For fans of Siri Hustvedt and Nicole Krauss, THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS is an
exceptional debut about the awakening of a young widow and 'carries a
considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is
Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as
it is sensual' (DAILY MAIL). In the five years since her young husband's
death, Celia Cassill has retreated from view. She has moved from one New
York neighbourhood to another, but she has not moved on. Now the owner of a
small apartment building, she has chosen tenants who will not intrude upon
her grief. Everything changes when a new tenant moves in upstairs.
Intoxicating and dangerous, Hope is on the run from a failed marriage and
in thrall to a seductive, sinister man. As her noisy affair destroys the
building's quiet, and another tenant disappears, Celia is forced back into
contact with life through violence, sex and the secrets barely concealed
within the brownstone's walls. 'An assured and moving debut novel. It has
the kind of real tenderness and simplicity that takes great skill to
achieve' A. L. Kennedy 'A moody, sensual debut... both important and true'
NEW YORKER 'The first novel from the ex-literary editor of Playboy carries
a considerable erotic charge, but there's much more to it besides: grief is
Amy Grace Loyd's subject and her narrative is as psychologically acute as
it is sensual. What's more she as good on the texture of spring in the city
as she is on the faces and flesh. A classy debut by a sure-footed
storyteller' DAILY MAIL 'From start to finish, Loyd's prose flows
exquisitely through the story, as she limns the depths of the protagonist's
mind, the complexity of human intimacy, and the idiosyncrasies of each new
character with the grace of a seasoned novelist' VANITY FAIR 'Mesmerizing'
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY 'A wonderful novel, beautifully written and sensuous,
rich with emotion and. Amy Grace Loyd's prose hums with desire as she
creates a Brooklyn walk-up that comes alive with the yearning of its
tenants, and moves them toward an unforgettable ending - suspenseful,
erotic and ultimately hopeful' Jess Walter, author of BEAUTIFUL RUINS

Amy Grace Loyd—The Affairs Of Others

€13.50Price
  • 9781780226811