Irreverent, playful, provocative and prolific, Argentinian author Cesar
Aira has written over 70 books and has been acknowledged internationally to
be one of the most original and provocative authors in world literature.
Collected here are three of his novellas. Three novels by Cesar Aira
combines three short novels by the cult Argentinian writer in one
beautifully designed box set. Irreverent, playful, provocative and
prolific, Argentinian author Cesar Aira has written over seventy books and
has been acknowledged internationally to be one of the most original and
provocative authors in world literature. Collected here are three of his
novellas, to be published for the very first time in the UK. In Ghosts, an
immigrant worker's family are squatting on the haunted construction site of
a luxury condominium building. All of the workmen and their families see
the ghosts which float around the place, but one teenage girl's interest in
them becomes so intense that her mother realizes her life is in the
balance. An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter tells of a point in
the life of German painter Johann Moritz Rugendas, when he visits Latin
America to paint its spectacular landscapes. There, a strange episode
interrupts his trip and irreversibly marks him for life. And in The
Literary Conference, a young translator called Cesar Aira travels to a
literary conference, intent on world domination ... Praise for Cesar Aira:
'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop' Roberto BolaTho
'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W.G. Sebald' Los
Angeles Times Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949,
and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers
in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books

César Aira—Ghosts - An Episode In The Life Of A Landscape Painter ; The Literar

€21.95Price
  • 9780241965962