Galsworthy's nine Forsyte novels span 50 years of family decline, from the
1880s to the 1930s. In seeking to insulate themselves by property from
reality and the disintegration of their class, the Forsytes are gradually
blinded to the threats of social change and the stealthy march of passion.

John Galsworthy—The Forsyte Saga

  • 9780141184180